Small Business Investing — Realize or Real Lies?

Ok, so as Small Business owner in the Charlotte, NC area and growing, I find myself looking for more ways to expand and build my brand…as most small business owners do. There are so many options out there, but it all boils down to capital…the mean green! I started my business 10 years ago with $2000 of my own personal capital, but I’m still not quite where I want to be, hence, why I’m looking for investors or just about ready to hit the bank for a small business loan…but before I do that, and put myself in debt, I want to make sure that I am maximizing all my avenues of income by using some of my social media tools. So, taking some time to reflect on this, I decided that in order for me to be successful, I am going to have to merge these two worlds. I am going to have to continue building a solid presence, but now online on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Instagram. Just over the last couple of weeks I have gained some great insight and connections. You have to be dedicated to it…to your business. It must be treated like a 9 to 10…not a 9 to 5. It is a constant steam engine of tweets, linkedin posts, instagram videos, Facebook Likes and so on…a neverending story of pitches and powerpoints. But, that’s ok — if that’s what it takes to make Sofistiq Concierge of Charlotte the number one Concierge provider in Charlotte, then I’m all for it, but I think investors are missing that. There are so many businesses in the start up lane that are operating but just under the radar. Not really making enough to call it a “profit” but have a good foundation and starting to turn heads…they just need the capital to take them to the next level. When I first started I was that business…trying to grow and build a reputation. It takes time, effort, energy and capital. You’ve got to have the passion and you must surround yourself with like minded individuals that want to succeed. It’s not easy building a business and a brand, but that’s why we’re called ENTREPRENUERS!

There are many companies out here that boast of being able to help small businesses get off the ground…some of which I won’t name…but are very well known in the small business community, but would take advantage of a small business owner by sneaky black and white print that talks in riddles and the promise of 2% APR when really it’s 13%. How is a small business owner supposed to truly grow their business? It’s time for us small business owners to wake up and realize that you are your brand…and as awesome as it is to have an investor, to be smart and make sure that its on terms that work for you. Don’t get a loan for 6 months with an interest rate of 32% and let the amount fool you! Be realistic…it doesnt make sense to borrow more than you know your business is worth! (I’m just saying)…set realistic goals…focus on brand building by utilizing social media outlets…connect and partner with others and look at inexpensive ways that you can grow your business…borrowing money should be one of your last resorts.

There are plenty of reasons to borrow money, but let it be for a true need…Inventory, marketing/branding, advertising…not paying back bills.

Alright Ladies and Gentleman! Stay tuned on my next topic…Are you really LinkedIn?

 

S.

Leave a Reply

